Astros acquire Grienke, Improve World Series Odds

David Bastl | Updated Aug 01, 2019

The Astros made the biggest move at the trade deadline with the addition of Zack Grienke. Houston now sits at +210 to capture the World Series.

The Houston Astros made the biggest splash at the MLB trade deadline picking up former Cy Young award winner Zack Grienke from the Diamondbacks, but they didn’t stop there as they also acquired Aaron Sanchez and Joe Biagini from the Blue Jays and Martin Maldonado from the Cubs. The Astros are now the new favourites at  to win the World Series at +210. Prior to the deadline they say at +300. There could be many problems in Houston for opposition batters come the post season as they boast four starting pitchers in the top 14 of major League baseball’s too ERA’s; Justin Verlander 2.73 (5th), Zack Grienke 2.90 (9th), Gerit Cole 2.94 (11th), and Wade Miley 3.06 (14th) slated to start.

The Los Angeles Dodgers tinkered with their lineup adding LHP Adam Kolarek (Rays) and infielder Jedd Gyorko (Cardinals). They have a comfortable double-digit lead in the National League West and are +275 to win the World Series.

The Atlanta Braves now sit at +333 to win the National League  and +700 to capture the franchises first World Series title since 1995. They bolstered their depleted bullpen with Mark Melancon from the Giants, Shane Greene from the Tigers, and Chris Martin from the Rangers.

The Chicago Cubs are in a battle with the Cardinals and Brewers in the National League Central. They helped their case picking up Outfielder Nick Castellanos from the Tigers and reliever David Phelps from the Blue Jays. They sit at +1700 to win the World Series, while the Cardinals are also at +1700 and Brewers check in at +2000.

Finally the New York Yankees, who are usually baseball’s busiest team at this time of year, were relatively quiet only picking up SP Alfredo Garcia from the Rockies. The Bronx Bombers have a comfortable League in the American League East and currently register +350 to win their first World Series title since 2009.